Resource Centre > Glossary > Legislative procedures in the European Union

There are three main types of legislative procedures, and the main difference is the role of the European Parliament in adopting the legislative measure. The procedures are:

  • Consultation procedure
  • Cooperation procedure
  • Co-decision procedure 

CONSULTATION PROCEDURE: (Article 192 of the EC Treaty). It requires the Council of Ministers to consult the European Parliament on the legislative proposals made by the Commission, but the Council does not have to follow the Parliament's opinions.

COOPERATION PROCEDURE: (Article 252 of the EC Treaty). Here the role of the Parliament is greater than in case of Consultation Procedure (there are two readings of Commission proposals), but the Council may still vote against the Parliament's suggestions.

CO-DECISION PROCEDURE: (Article 251 of the EC Treaty).  – The Commission's proposals must be agreed upon by the Council as well as the Parliament.


See also: ASSENT PROCEDURE - the European Parliament also needs to be consulted (and its views must be followed) by the Council before certain important decisions are taken - such as englargement of the EU, association agreements or other fundamental agreements with third countries.