Resource Centre > Key Players > Commission of the European Communities

The Commission of the European Communities is the executive body of the European Communities, with the following key powers: initiating legislation, monitoring its implementation (also by delegation from the Council of Ministers – see Comitology), and enforcing antitrust law (investigation of breaches, decisions, fines).

The distinct departments (Directorates General are responsible for specific policy areas). Some of the most crucial are:

A new Commission took office on 10 February 2010. The key Commissioners for EJF are Mr. Joaquin Almunia (Competition); Mr. John Dalli (SANCO); and Mrs Viviane Reding ( Justice). Click here for profiles